You can’t DIY chronic illness by JOSIE RANDALL

Most people I come into contact with absolutely love having their say when it comes to my illness. It’s kind of like playing chronic pain bingo – the amount of times I’ve heard variations of “Have you taken some paracetamol?”; “Have you tried yoga? I’ve heard that fixes stuff like that”; “But you look fine”; “Stay positive, you’ll get over it!”; and my least favourite: “Oh, I know how you feel, I’m tired too.”

I know most of these come from people who mean well, but it does not translate that way to someone who has been sick for years and has tried everything under the sun.

Chronic illness isn’t something you can take a certain pill for, or will go away if you do a certain yoga pose.

 

 

 

Read More Here.

Leave a Reply

