Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Patients Had Reduced Activity in Brain’s ‘Reward Center’

Findings show that patients with chronic fatigue syndrome have decreased activation of an area of the brain known as the basal ganglia in response to reward.

More @ Science Daily

One thought on “Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Patients Had Reduced Activity in Brain’s ‘Reward Center’

  1. Because this study identified the basal ganglia site in the brain, whose main mediator is the neurotransmitter Dompamine, as being a differentiating factor for CFS (ME) patients, I decided to experiment on myself.
    I bought some Mucuna (from http://www.shaman.co.nz), which has 15% L-Dopa as an active ingredient.
    Well, I have felt much better since starting on this, providing I don’t take it every day. If I do, I get an adrenal “overload” which leads to greater fatigue.
    Taking it every two or three days lets me achieve a lot more, in that I have more motivation (everything is more interesting), and I have more stamina.
    Where before I needed a long rest after any strenuous activity, I now just have a short break (not necessarily a sleep, but it does help), and I can continue with more activities. Exercise isn’t necessarily easier, but my whole body works better, my muscles work more smoothly, and my joints are pain free. What would previously cripple me is now doable.

    It’s still early days yet, but I am very encouraged, and have experienced none of the allergic reactions to plant based herbal products, which have sometimes halted other treatments.

    I am aware that Dopamine breaks down to adrenaline, so caution is required. It feels like progress.

Leave a Reply

